Clarion Foundation Announces 2009 Faculty

posted in: Author, Books, News | 0
Forward by Jim Kelly

The Clarion Foundation has announced the faculty for the 2008 Clarion Writers  Workshop: Holly Black, Larissa Lai, Robert Crais, and Kim Stanley Robinson with  Elizabeth Hand and Paul Park team teaching the final two weeks.  Now in its third year at the University of California, San Diego, the Workshop will run for six weeks from June 28 to August 8.  To read about Clarion’s 2009 faculty, visit


“Last year we set an all time record for applications and we expect that this year’s faculty will also prove to be a strong draw,” said Clarion Foundation Chair Karen Joy Fowler.     “We have a mix of best-selling and award-winning writers, experienced Clarion teachers and writers who we have been trying attract to Clarion for years. 

Founded in 1968, the Clarion Workshop is the one of the most highly regarded writing workshops in the county. Participants are selected from a pool of applicants who demonstrate  the potential for successful writing careers. The Clarion Foundation will accept applications from January 2 to March 1, 2009.

Clarion is administered by the not-for-profit Clarion Foundation.  The Board of Directors of The Clarion Foundation is made up of past Clarion teachers, alumni and friends and includes Chair Karen Joy Fowler, Vice Chair James Patrick Kelly, Treasurer Nancy Etchemendy, Secretary Leslie What as well as Walter Jon Williams, Kate Wilhelm, Kim Stanley Robinson, Nancy Holder, Kelly Link James Shea and Cory Doctorow.

Comments are closed.